Behind the rash

So i thought I would do a quick blog about what it’s actually like to be caring for a child with allergies. 

We woke up this morning and my son was very itchy, which isn’t rare for us he had his breakfast of toast with marg some grapes a small bowl of porridge a fruit pot and 6oz of milk. Which again isn’t rare for us he normally cries for a banana or tangerine afterwards but that’s when it hit us. 

He started screaming a high pitched blood curdling scream my heart sunk “not another allergy” I thought to myself and sure enough beneath his morning poo we had blisters I managed to wipe his poo off whilst my son was crimson and cringing every time the cotton wool went near him (when I know he’s having an allergic reaction I only use cotton wool and olive oil to clean his bum) I smothered him in his prescribed nappy cream attempted to fasten his nappy as by this time he was inconsolable and cradled him in my eyes. 

This isn’t anything strange for us but the strange thing is we’ve been having nothing but safe foods and haven’t changed ANYTHING over the past 3 months (an allergic reaction takes 72 hours to appear) so I’ve now got to check every tiny detail of the past week to see if anything has changed for us. Whilst juggling cleaning, cooking, ironing and now making sure the blisters on my sons backside aren’t growing or bleeding again. 

Being a mum isn’t easy at the best of times but I’m trying to shine a light that allergy mums aren’t alone anymore also my picture is my son shaking not being able to sit down 

All my unicorn love 

Lumabeauty 

Leave a Reply

